Pattern Practice

This week we have been exploring the idea of patterns. We have discovered that we can find patterns in MANY places!

An increasing pattern is a pattern that gets greater each time.

For example, the pattern 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 is an increasing pattern. It starts at 10 and increases by 5 each time.

decreasing pattern is a pattern that becomes less each time.

For example, the pattern 18, 16, 14, 12, 10… is a decreasing pattern. It starts at 18 and decreases by 2 each time.

Take a look at this picture.

image

Do you know what kind of pattern it is?

What is the pattern rule?

How many cubes would you need for the next figure?

Here are a few great websites to give you some more pattern practice.

Pattern Quest

Pattern Train

Missing Shapes

Growing Patterns

Number Cracker

Increasing Number Patterns

Adventure Sequences

Take a look around your house.  Please click on the speech bubble in the top right hand corner of this post to leave a comment describing some of the patterns you see at home. (Remember our blogging guidelines. Use only your first name, and remember to use quality sentences.) We can’t wait to read your comments!

10 comments on “Pattern Practice

  1. In my house we have laminate floor that is a pattern. We also have a baby gate that has circles that are patterns. Our kitties have stripe patterns too.

  2. I see a pattern on my sheets and on my moms candles. On my shirt. On my blocks.
    My sisters toys. Moms diperbag. My Sweaters. The calendar, towels and my sisters carseat . My carpet and last thing my juice in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

